County Board Announces Appointments to Zoning Ordinance Overhaul Subcommittee

March 02, 2016
Supervisor Patrick Miles, 608.561-7967
County Board

The Dane County Board of Supervisors Zoning and Land Regulation (ZLR) Committee has appointed a subcommittee to lead a comprehensive revision of the way the County regulates land use, under a resolution approved unanimously by the Board at its February 4th meeting.  The appointments come days after Governor Scott Walker signed a bill into law to allow towns within Dane County to opt out of County zoning.


“It makes more sense to work together at the local level than to get the state involved,” said County Board Chair Sharon Corrigan. “Working together with the towns, we can craft a new zoning ordinance that addresses their changing needs. I’m confident that we’ve put together the right group of people to do just that.”


“This group of stakeholders I appoint today represents a broad array of perspectives and experience,” said ZLR Chair Patrick Miles. “I am optimistic they will produce a zoning ordinance that respects our strong farming economy while balancing demands of a growing population.  I am grateful for their generous commitment to accomplish this important endeavor.”

Those appointed to the subcommittee are:


County Government:

Zoning and Land Regulation Committee:  Supervisor Mary Kolar

Environment Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee:  Supervisor Nikki Jones


Town Government:

Mary Haley, Pleasant Springs Town Chair

Tom Wilson, Westport Town Attorney, Administrator & Clerk-Treasurer

Jim Elleson, Town of Vermont Plan Commission


Area Builders & Realtors:

Justin Temple, Temple Builders


Agricultural Community:

Jim Haack, Deerfield


The subcommittee is specifically charged with studying the current ordinance, including consideration of work completed in recent reviews and identifying problem areas; conducting surveys, focus groups, and public meetings to gather broad public input on areas for improvement in the current ordinance; and working with the County’s Corporation Counsel to draft a comprehensive revision of the ordinance for introduction to the County Board by September 2017.


About the County Board of Supervisors

The 37-member, nonpartisan Dane County Board of Supervisors represents the needs and welfare of all citizens of Dane County, Wisconsin, and sets policy for County operations in the areas of health, human needs, infrastructure, criminal justice, the environment and County finance. The Board meets twice monthly.

                                                               #        #        #